People to Contact

The following conservation professionals can advise landowners, towns, companies, and organizations on how to make young forest and shrubland to help New England cottontails and the many other wild creatures that need this habitat. They can also point folks toward other state and federal agencies and resources.

Contact your state's wildlife division, as many such agencies have private-lands biologists and programs that explain, encourage, and sometimes help fund habitat-management practices that benefit young forest wildlife. Federal programs that can help private farm and forestland owners include the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service's Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP).


Connecticut

Jack Berlanda, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, john.berlanda@ct.gov, 860-295-9523

Howard Kilpatrick, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, howard.kilpatrick@ct.gov, 860-418-5953

Dale May, Wildlife Management Institute, Hampton, CT, dale.may@sbcglobal.net, 860-455-0037

Andrea Petrullo, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, Andrea.petrullo@ct.gov, 860-295-9523

Lisa Wahle, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, lisa.wahle@ct.gov, 860-295-9523


Maine

Gary Donovan, Wildlife Management Institute, Holden, ME, gdonovan46@msn.com, 207-843-6326

Walter Jakubas, Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Bangor, ME, walter.jakubas@maine.gov, 207-941-4471

Andrew Johnson, Wildlife Management Institute/USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Scarborough, ME, andrew.johnson@me.usda.gov, 207-883-0159 x 108

Kate O'Brien, Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, Wells, ME, Kate_OBrien@fws.gov, 207-646-9226 x 27


Massachusetts

Joel Carlson, Northeast Forest & Fire Management, Sandwich, MA, joelcarlson@ne-ffm.com, www.ne-ffm.com, 508-274-2234 (ecological management of pine barrens, prescribed burns, wildlife habitat restoration)

Marianne Piche, Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife and Natural Resources Conservation Service, Westborough, MA, marianne.piche@state.ma.us, 508-389-6313

David Scarpitti, Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Westborough, MA, david.scarpitti@state.ma.us, 508-389-6377


New Hampshire

Haley Andreozzi, University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension, Durham, NH, Haley.Andreozzi@unh.edu, 603-862-5327

Kelly Boland, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Dover, NH, Kelly.Boland@nh.usda.gov, 603-868-9931 x 113

Heidi Holman, New Hampshire Fish and Game and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Concord, NH, Heidi.holman@wildlife.nh.gov, 603-271-3018

Don Keirstead, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Durham, NH, donald.keirstead@nh.usda.gov, 603-868-9931 x 128

Ed and Julie Robinson, Wildlife Management Institute, Loudon, NH, julesprobinson@comcast.net, 603-856-1602 and 603-856-1603


New York

Elaina Burns, New York Department of Environmental Conservation, New Paltz, NY, elaina.burns@dec.ny.gov, 845-256-3827

Doug Little, National Wild Turkey Federation and Wildlife Management Institute, Cornwallville, NY, dlittle@nwtf.net, 518-239-4427

Paul Novak, New York Department of Environmental Conservation and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Schenectady, NY, pgnovak@gw.dec.state.ny.us, 518-357-2071


Rhode Island

Gary Casabona, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Warwick, RI, gary.casabona@ri.usda.gov, 401-822-8837

Brian Tefft, Rhode Island Department of Fish and Wildlife and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, West Kingston, RI, brian.tefft@dem.ri.gov, 401-789-0281


Great Thicket National Wildlife Refuge

Beth Goldstein, Realty Specialist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Hadley, MA, beth.goldstein@fws.gov, 413-253-8564


Regionwide and Administrative

Charles Fergus, Wildlife Management Institute, Lyndonville, VT, charleslfergus@gmail.com, 802-626-4220 (website and communications)

Steve Fuller, Wildlife Management Institute and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Weare, NH, sfuller71@comcast.net, 603-361-4336 (science)

Ted Kendziora, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program, Concord, NH, ted_kendziora@fws.gov, 603-223-2541 x 13 (habitat creation)

Judy Stokes Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, judystokesweber@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (communications)

Anthony Tur, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and New England Cottontail Technical Committee, Concord, NH, Anthony_tur@fws.gov, 603-223-2541 x 6416 (science)

Steve Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, sweber56@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (science and administration)